N over My Head? 80 kz740 twin

More
04 Aug 2008 21:45 #230238 by srennoc
N over My Head? 80 kz740 twin was created by srennoc
Is there any way to zero out, or find a starting point for the screw that controls the synch of my two carbs?
I have been messing with that and the pilot screws, and now think that maybe my prob might have just been a combo of extreamly dirty after market K&N filters (from a leaking tach cable thats been replaced) and using the wrong oil. i also replaced the plugs because they were full of carbon deposits... i replaced them with ones specified in manual, the ones on bike when i bought it were wrong....

in all the adjustments i have been making, it seems no matter what i do, i get this lagging somewehere between 3-5K rpm, no matter the speed. i am steady on throttle but bike acts like it is either trying to slow down or speed up.. just not consistent...

when i got the bike, it backfired alot, and that is why i started playing with the adjustment of the carbs, but now it doesnt backfire, and runs really crappy except when i am just getting on it...

also, noticed that after all the tinkering i have done, the throttle now acts weird, as in the iddle... i would throttle up, and it wouldnt come back down, it would stay at a high idle for several seconds before coming down...

should i just face the facts and take it to a shop? or is there a starting point i can get to, and start trouble shooting?

i am just concerned that there are multiple factors involved in my problems and i am missing something...

i will tell you more info if you need to know more, or even take pics of carbs so you can see if it is aftermarket, because i dont know really...

i bought the bike knowing i would need to do work, but i was expecting that over the winter, as it ran well when i got it... maybe i am just being impatient, and need to go ahead and break it down... but i really want to ride th rest of the summer! aahhh!

1980 KZ750G TWIN