Hoses on the bottom of carb leaking gas

• AnxiousCowboy
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
07 Jun 2008 11:07 #218556 by AnxiousCowboy
Hoses on the bottom of carb leaking gas was created by AnxiousCowboy
I've tried to start my KZ440 the other day with no luck. I notice a leak under the bike and I check it out to find that there is gas coming out two hoses coming out the bottom of the carb. I'm a newb at this bike stuff, so what's going on with these hoses?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jun 2008 13:19 #218586 by wiredgeorge
Replied by wiredgeorge on topic Hoses on the bottom of carb leaking gas
You didn't bother mention which year KZ440 you have. Edit your signature and put your year/model (its in your profile) and perhaps your location... having the bike info is kind of important if you expect precise answers.

The 80-82 440 carbs have overflow pipes. The gas coming out the overflow pipes was probably noticed when the bike was parked? If so, it is a sign that your petcock diaphragm is compromised or the vacuum line going to the petcock from the carb assembly. The purpose of a vacuum actuated petcock is to stop gas flow when the bike isn't running. If it continues to flow, the float needle/seat assembly are left with the job of trying to stop gas flow and this seldom works satisfactorily as these components were not designed to do this job... they are meant to meter fuel while the bike is running. The petcock is supposed to shut off gas.

To test your petcock, with the bike NOT running, just pull off the gas hose while the petcock is in ON or RES positions... if gas comes out, the diaphragm is shot or the vacuum line is leaking air or not connected... The vacuum line attaches to the petcock. If gas does NOT come out the petcock when you pull off the gas hose, you have another problem.