Carbs Leaking

More
13 May 2008 07:14 #213273 by badrhino
Carbs Leaking was created by badrhino
When I bought my KZ1000 I put some fresh fuel in the tank to see if I could get it running. I noticed that there was gas leaking out of the carbs. Overnite it would leave a pretty good puddle on the floor. Is this because the carbs did not have the vent hoses on them or could it be something else? Please help.

1980 KZ1000 with a 1982 KZ1000J motor with 1100 pistons and heads, Vance & Hines, 29MM Smooth Bores, Work in Progress
Franken Z!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 May 2008 07:29 #213277 by Bullitt03737
Replied by Bullitt03737 on topic Carbs Leaking
Im no expert. But To me that tells me your floats are sticking and letting the bowls fill up to the point were its overflowing.

1980 CSR 1000. New dyna Coils, Vacumn Less Petcock, Various Handle bars depending on the day, (Drag and Clubman.)

More
13 May 2008 17:14 #213391 by furby1184
Replied by furby1184 on topic Carbs Leaking
you might also check your petcock to make sure it is shutting off the fuel if it is not it will overflow your bowls and cause gas to leak good luck

1979 KZ 650B pod filters, 4-1 kerker.

More
13 May 2008 17:50 #213401 by Ilbikes
Replied by Ilbikes on topic Carbs Leaking
Hi, you have 1, maybe 2 problems.

1) Your float needle and seat (valve assembly) is faulty - replacement is the best option I can recommend. I have not had good luck cleaning them after years of sitting or wear.

2) Your floats have lost some of their bouyancy and are not correctly adjusted. Sounds strange, but this has just happened to me and I would never believed it possible before now. Getting your floats set-up correctly using a fuel level gauge is the only way.