throttle issues

More
07 May 2008 19:38 #211964 by fishybass
throttle issues was created by fishybass
Hi all.

I got my bike started! It runs for more than a few seconds as long as I am playing with the throttle. I think this should be fixed with a carb synching. But from what I read, you need to set the idle before you synch the carbs. So, one caveat before my questions... I am COMPLETELY new to bikes.

My idle screw is all the way in and still barely makes contact with the throttle assembly. As I move the throttle the bike actually slows down instead of speeding up. Is any of this normal? Any thoughts are welcome.

Also, can I use a manometer while adjusting the throttle or does the throttle have to remain in a static position?

Thanks,
Ben

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2008 05:53 #212001 by Z1109R Fin
Replied by Z1109R Fin on topic throttle issues
Sychning is done around 3000rpm. This can easily be obtained by turning the idle adjustment screw to achieve this rpm. Rpm should be stabile when sychnig all 4 carbs to get most accurate readings.

The second Q is more a mystery :unsure: Wat do you mean exactly? Opposite throtle play? It is possible in carbs that have 2 cables to istall them vice versa ie. pull cable and push cables mixed. I this possible in your case??

Z1000R ´83...Slightly modified...

More
08 May 2008 17:51 #212148 by fishybass
Replied by fishybass on topic throttle issues
That was my initial thought as well that the cables were switched. So I switched them -- but of course that changed the direction the handlebar throttle control operated, not the direction of how the carb operated.

Should the choke be turned off immediately after starting, or after a few minutes?