Carbs Rebuild 0r Replace

More
27 Apr 2008 15:20 #209575 by j_bizach
Carbs Rebuild 0r Replace was created by j_bizach
So the carbs on my 81 kz550 ltd need work they leak and i havnt been able to get my bike to work. Now I'm not very experienced when it come to carbs. Ive seen carbs for my bike for sale rebuilt and tuned and ready to go. How much would it be to rebuild them and would I have to retune the carbs once theyve been rebuilt. Where would I go to find a rebuilt set of carbs Ive done a little searching with not much luck I figured one of you would know where to find them.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Apr 2008 17:14 - 27 Apr 2008 17:15 #209603 by snorules
Replied by snorules on topic Carbs Rebuild 0r Replace
I used to be scared to death of carbs, but I had no choice due to $ but to rebuild mine myself. My best advice is to get an empty egg catron to keep all of the parts separated by carb number. You dont want to mix up parts between carbs. They are actually pretty simple to work on once you get them off of the bike. take digital pics or do some drawings if you have to so you can remember how everything goes back together. Just take your time and be sure to blow out every air and fuel passage really well with carb cleaner after full disassembly. I forgot to take out my air screws the first time i did my carbs :( had to pull them out and do them all over. Also, check out some of the archive articles on bench syncing and setting the float levels, they helped me out tremendously.Good luck, YOU CAN DO IT!!

P.S. my bike is a 1980 550 LTD

1980 KZ550C (daily rider)
1981 KZ1000J (bagger project in progress)
1981 GS1100 (future dragbike)
1978 Z1R (not mine yet, but trying to work out a deal to acquire it).
Last edit: 27 Apr 2008 17:15 by snorules. Reason: misspelling

More
27 Apr 2008 18:22 #209618 by bill_wilcox100
Replied by bill_wilcox100 on topic Carbs Rebuild 0r Replace