carbs: jets

More
29 Jan 2008 00:11 #191561 by ZeeEuro
carbs: jets was created by ZeeEuro
Hey everyone,

2 questions.

1) I am wondering if the air pilot screws need to be turned out by the SAME amount on all four carb boots? I am new to this, and right now the idle didn't last long, i disassembled the carbs (got 118 mains, 17.5 pilots); the air pilot screws right now are turned out 4 turns, the other 3 turns.

2) Should I turn those in, mount them, start the bike, then turn out gradually?

thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jan 2008 00:20 #191562 by gorack
Replied by gorack on topic carbs: jets
hey wired george you better take this one.well anywho they should be 1 1\2 turns give or take a 1\4 turn and yes they should all be the same

Post edited by: gorack, at: 2008/01/29 03:20

More
29 Jan 2008 00:26 #191563 by ZeeEuro
Replied by ZeeEuro on topic carbs: jets
thanks gorack!

so 3 turns is too much?

i have pods and x-pipe. engine has no mods and the carbs are clean.

• KZ_Rage
  • User
  • Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale
More
29 Jan 2008 07:13 #191603 by KZ_Rage
Replied by KZ_Rage on topic carbs: jets
They will generally be close but not exactly the same in number of turns out. 3-4 turns is too much, you're too rich, maybe try some 15 pilots and check the float heights. Not sure what carbs you have but 118 mains seem a little big for a stock 650 engine with X-pipe (newer style?) and pods.

What do the plugs look like after a few minutes of idle?

Did you set the bike up or was it like that when you got it?

Me, I'd put the jets back stock or use 15's and 112.5's in it to start with and if it has adjustable clips on the needles I'd put them in the middle and go from there as to what jets are needed. A lot of times jets are "opinion spec'd" before the bike is tried with the stock setup after exhaust and pod mods.

Post edited by: KZ_Rage, at: 2008/01/29 18:43

1979 KZ1000E1 SOLD!
1984 KZ550F2 SOLD!
2006 ZG1000A6F (Totaled)