Bike popping and bogging down

• greatbeefalo
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
15 Nov 2007 15:42 #181229 by greatbeefalo
Bike popping and bogging down was created by greatbeefalo
Alright, this is NOT a KZ, but since Ive spent alot of time on these boards and I know there are a ton of real experts here on carburetors, Im asking you guys.

The bike is a 1993 Honda VT600 Shadow (v twin) that justhad the carbs rebuilt after sitting. It starts up and runs, but if I give it more than a quarter throttle it either stops firing or bogs down and I have to back off the throttle. This happens at all speeds, even at revving at idle. I tried adjusted the idle screw; what else could it be? Carb synchronization?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Nov 2007 15:58 #181233 by howard8414
Replied by howard8414 on topic Bike popping and bogging down
Hi,

I am by no means an expert so definately double check me. When I've asked the gurus on the forum about this on my bike the response is that the mixture is too lean. On my bike you can adjust the air screws (in to richen, out to lean) and also adjust the needle jet inside the carb by moving it up or down on the throttle body.

If everything else checks out (i.e. electrical, timing, etc.) that's where I would focus.

More
15 Nov 2007 16:02 #181234 by The Milkman
Replied by The Milkman on topic Bike popping and bogging down
sounds like it is running out of fuel. Could be fuel filter, petcock plugged, screen on the petcock plugged, float levels to low, anything in the fuel system that will keep the carbs from filling and staying filled as you run it.
If it has cv carbs, the ones with the diaghrams under the top cover, they could have pin holes in them, not allowing the needles to by raised in the jets.

78 650-C2, Stock engine, Jardine 4-2 Exh., 17-38 sprockets, dyna ignition and coils, coil wiring mod, carb mod.
The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1

More
15 Nov 2007 16:06 #181235 by Bluemeanie