1981 Kz650 CSR Dies when throttle turned

More
17 Aug 2007 14:01 #164484 by mcskz650csr
1981 Kz650 CSR Dies when throttle turned was created by mcskz650csr
hello,

I am a new member to this board. I am new to Kaw's but not new to fixing bikes. All bike makes have their quirks so I am trouble shooting the one I have and looking to you all for advice or a simple knod to the carb gods.

up on the chopping block for the panel is a CSR 650. It has the carbs that look like towers, and where the slides are seeming mechanically linked to the throttle, not free like on early honda's. These particular carbs have an accelerator link and pump but did not have a cover for the vacuum sensor, it does hav two brass outlets at the bottom of the vacuum sensor though. From some of the searching I have done this seems to be one of the real possible carb models. Please correct me if I am wrong.

The main symptom I would like to focus on is the fact that when I turn the throttle it pretty much dies. I took it out a couple of days ago and was able to get going but that was about it.

if the choke is turned on during idle it dies
if the choke is on when trying to start, it will barely start and then die.

it seemingly idles fine with the occasional put put

I sprayed starter fluid on all carb boots (before and after the carb with no increase in engine speed, so I don't think that an air leak is part of the issue(at idle)

pulled all of the spark plugs know I am getting spark from the boots, need to check the plugs though.

Things not checked:

1. Timing, I pulled off the right side cover and it doesn't have points at first glance, just a cam and some small blocks(which are cruded up a little). I'd like to verify that this is most likely an electronic ignition?

2. I have not tested compression yet (today is the day)

3. I have not done a full carb strip down and soak yet, but it is on the list.