No low end power

More
05 Aug 2007 20:28 #161971 by Wes_R
No low end power was created by Wes_R
Hi,

I bought my '82 CSR last year and the carbs were in pieces. This was a totally stock bike with the exception of a sissy bar, as far as I could tell. It has 20K miles on it. I’m going into some of the history, just in case it helps in diagnosing the problem. Also keep in mind I’m not a mechanic (in other words, don’t forget to point out the apparent obvious).

The previous owner was trying to fix a problem where gas was leaking out of the carbs he said. Once I started looking at them, the problem was obvious. Apparently he had done some type of tank liner and pieces of it were blocking the fuel inlet valve. I cleaned and rebuild the carbs and put on an inline filter. I also put in a new set of stock coils, wires and plugs. I ran the bike that way for a month or so with no problems. At one point, during a hard acceleration, it developed a bad exhaust leak. I found that cross-over pipe had been replaced with some flex tube that was too bid and sealed with what looked like furnace grout. A large piece of this grout had blown out. Since it was the end of the season, I pulled the pipes, cleaned and painted them, bought a new crossover, gaskets and clamps and eventually put everything back together. I also chemically and mechanically cleaned all the crap out of the tank, put on a new fuel filter and adjusted the float level using the external tube method. I also checked the valve clearances. Two of the exhaust clearances were close, but still in spec. I also cleaned, checked and lubed the mechanical advance. I haven’t done a compression test yet, but it is on the list.