kz 750 carb....im new at this

More
22 Jul 2007 14:02 #158690 by higechops
kz 750 carb....im new at this was created by higechops
i just bought a kz 750 and it had the original air filter. so i bought some k&n filters to put on it. when i did this, now i have too much air and not enough gas. is their an adjustment that i can do or do i need to jett the carbs. if so, has anybody done it with the k&n filters and what size do i need?

please help

aaron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Jul 2007 15:13 #158707 by John T
Replied by John T on topic kz 750 carb....im new at this
what year KZ ?

stock exhaust?

True Wisdom Only Comes From Pain.

More
22 Jul 2007 16:54 #158728 by anarki650
Replied by anarki650 on topic kz 750 carb....im new at this
Is it a 750 twin or 4? From all my experience with airbox to pods you have to rejet to allow more fuel. Of course, I've only ever worked on the mikuni vm24 carbs on the kz650s. Not sure about CV type carbs, but I would imagine that they'd need rejetted the same.
For my 650 with pods and a slightly more free flowing exhaust I'm running the stock 15 pilot jets and have upped my mains to 115s (although I'm thinking that 112.5s would be a better match). But still, the mains are several sizes over stock jetting.

09 Kawasaki ER6n
77 kz650b1 cafe rebirth project
"Being shot out of a cannon will always be better than being squeezed out of a tube, that's why God made fast motorcycles..."
Dr. Hunter S. Thompson
Omaha NE

More
22 Jul 2007 17:42 #158736 by JR
Replied by JR on topic kz 750 carb....im new at this
If its an early 80s E model 4 cylinder with Keihin ccarbs check here kzrider.com/component/option,com_joomlab...w/catid,3/id,147894/

You need either a 140 and a 70 jet as per wiredgeorge or a 137 and 62 as I did.

Call Z1 Enterprises for the jets. Dont throw out that original airbox just yet....just in case you have problems finding the smaller jet.

Post edited by: JR, at: 2007/07/22 20:44