Where can I find documentation on Setting a carb?

• germanpickle
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
03 Jul 2007 10:43 #154494 by germanpickle
I'd like to learn before I start posting like crazy.

Here's my issue. I have a 1980 KZ750LTD. I'm running 4 pods with 140 Main jets. I'm finding some recent weird issues, (For example, bike stalls after idling for 20 seconds or so, Bike doesn't idle with Choke on when cold, etc.) and I'd like to read up on how to properly adjust carbs, what tools to get, and a troubleshooting process for adjusting etc.

I could surf all the posts and slowly piece it together, but I find that becomes confusing as so many people have different mods.

What I'd like to find is kind of an idiot's guide to motorcycle carb maintenance. (Mulitple carb installations.)

I'm hoping to learn how to balance, synchronize, properly determine whether I need to rejet or or adjust air screws. which screw does what etc.

I'm not a mechanic, I'm a geek. I can hold my own when it comes to the mechanics if I have the reference material to leanr first. :-)

Any resources, links etc would be most helpful. If I still end up hopelessly stuck, I know there's lots of knowledge here, but I want to try to figure this out on my own first.

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Jul 2007 12:32 #154513 by JR
Regarding links Dans motorcycle course is usefull and you can find the carb section here www.dansmc.com/carbs.htm

mbsween who is a member here has a shop manual for the 750/4 on his site www.mbsween.com but it appears to be down at the moment. Maybe check later.

I'm assuming your carbs are Keihins. With pods you should be fine with the 140 which I think is actually a secondary main. I have pods and 135s. I believe wiredgeorge recommends 140. for the primary main air jet I have 62s - see pic below and others may recommend going as high as 70 - if you can get them.