Ideal RPM for carb Sync

• BARNEYHYPHEN
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
02 Jul 2007 08:52 #154216 by BARNEYHYPHEN
Ideal RPM for carb Sync was created by BARNEYHYPHEN
Got the mercury stick out at the weekend an synced the carbs. Did this with engine at working temp at idle, about 1,200 RPM. Mercury was a little bouncy but all fairly well balanced at around 18-19 cm.

Should I be doing this at perhaps 2,000 or even 2,500 RPM to obtain a truer result?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jul 2007 10:51 #154246 by JR
Replied by JR on topic Ideal RPM for carb Sync
I've always done it just like that - idle speed on a warmed engine. But then I'm no expert.

1980 kz750E1, Delkevic exhaust

More
02 Jul 2007 10:56 #154247 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Ideal RPM for carb Sync
The difference will be greatest at the lowest idle speed. At larger throttle openings, the difference becomes much less (as a percentage of total opening).

Also, the device is only accurate near the RPM at which you calibrate the tool.

• BARNEYHYPHEN
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
02 Jul 2007 10:56 #154248 by BARNEYHYPHEN
Replied by BARNEYHYPHEN on topic Ideal RPM for carb Sync
Thanks JR. Just wondering if the less "bouncy" results I can get at 2,000+ might be a tad more reliable than the 1-2 cm bounce I'm getting at 1,200?

We'll see if anyone else has an opinion.

More
02 Jul 2007 11:50 #154265 by wiredgeorge
Replied by wiredgeorge on topic Ideal RPM for carb Sync
Actually, setting your idle using the tachometer is often misleading. The tach on many KZs is too inaccurate to use to set idle speed. Get an external shop tach if you feel like you need to get the idle exactly in spec. The bike should idle smoothly when you sync the carbs. 2K rpm is likely a bit high.

wiredgeorge Motorcycle Carburetors
Mico TX
www.wgcarbs.com
Too many bikes to list!

More
02 Jul 2007 11:54 #154266 by loudhvx
Here's how to calibrate your manometer.