Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Correct Idle speed/cable source 30 Jan 2007 11:47 #109173

• MikeNJ
  • MikeNJ's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
After being told that my carbs were a lost cause, I rebuilt them myself (my first time) and the bike starts! (The bike has been out in the elements neglected for several years and is in real bad shape). However, the bike idles at approx 3500 - 4000 rpms and is unresponsive to throttle input. My push cable is broken, but I do not think its that because I can see the gizmo returning to the regular position when I let off the throttle. 3 Questions: Does anyone know a source for a push throttle cable? What is the typical Idle Speed for a 1976 KZ400? Any suggestions on why the engine is not responing? Any help will be greatly appreciated. I am a novice at this.

Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Correct Idle speed/cable source 01 Feb 2007 09:47 #109517

• Qdude
  • User
  • It is all good.
  • Thank you received: 1
Taking on this project assures that you will not be a novice at this much longer...

On my 77 650 the cables are the same for push and pull.

I am curious what you did, or mean by "rebuilt the carbs."
I am also curious why you were told they were a "lost cause."

Having a bike in the elements,... gizmo (carb throttle linkage I imagine if it is the gizmo at the engine end of the throttle cables) returning to normal though still unresponsive to throttle input?

It sounds as if your throttle linkage has broken/become disconnected from the carb "plungers" somehow. I would recommend removing the carbs again, to see that the carbs are mechanically working correctly. i.e. carb linkage cable wheel turning spins shaft, shaft actuates levers (in the carb under that top cap casing on the carbs), levers lift throat restrictors, carbs open evenly.