Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

First Time Cutting Outside Threads 13 Oct 2010 17:09 #406446

• DoubleDub
  • DoubleDub's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
Because I'm a cheap ass lately, I decided I would build a new brake rod ( see: www.z1enterprises.com/detail.aspx?ID=3216 ) for my bike.

This is the first time I've ever cut threads with a die and I'm looking for some advice. I've gotten the die to start, it appears straight, and I've got a couple of threads cut. However, I'm at a point where the vice isn't holding the 6mm stainless rod still. This is requiring very very small degrees of progress before backing off and trying again (to prevent the rod from rotating).

I've tried mounting the rod in the vice both vertically and horizontally.

I'm wondering if the rod is actually slightly too big (damn you, Mcmaster Carr!) as I was able to cut the rod with the 7mm die as well (although just barely with the last tooth or so of the die).

Again, I'm new at this - don't have a clue what I'm doing.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

First Time Cutting Outside Threads 13 Oct 2010 17:36 #406461

• gd4now
  • User
  • Denco where did you go?
  • Thank you received: 370
You do not need to thread too much of the rod, just a few inches. So, try to only allow a short part of the rod to be above the vice to start. Then move it up as your die gets close to the vice. I would suggest you also use scrap wood in the vice to protect the rod. You do need to back turn to clean the die every so many turns. Also make sure you lube the rod and die as you cut the treads.
1977 KZ650 B1
Pods and Denco header

This is my Z

OLD KAW OWNERS SMILE ALOT

First Time Cutting Outside Threads 13 Oct 2010 18:31 #406468

• DoubleDub
  • Visitor