Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

750 twin kick start 20 Nov 2006 05:21 #93404

• mariozappa
  • mariozappa's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 8
I've started working on my 76' kz750B1 twin that has a bad stator and recitfier.
The stator pieces are in a box with the stater gear and chain, so I have to use the kick start to get her to run.
And she does run.
My questions is, when I use the kick start, sometimes the kick start KICKS BACK!
And it kicks back with so much power that I feel like I've hurt my foot.
I have 2 650 with kick start and I've never had this happen like this. Is there that much compression with a 750 two cylinder, or am I missing something?

Limping around, looking for an answer...
:blush:
1977 KZ650C1
and the KZ650/KZ750 Conversion ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

750 twin kick start 20 Nov 2006 05:53 #93413

• cratgo
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
i'm no expert, but desperation has caused me to read ALOT of info on the internet,
i don't think i would be concerned too much, it has somthing to do with your ignition timing, causing the kickback, (mine does it too sometimes) but i have also read that the ignition timing set right there is preferred, remember the 750b's pistons run togehter, parallel, so you're getting all 748?ccs punching back at you at the same time, hope this helps,

750 twin kick start 20 Nov 2006 07:36 #93433

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
Fours are easier to kick over than big twins, and big twins are easier to kick over than big singles.
KD9JUR

750 twin kick start 20 Nov 2006 08:00 #93439

• 77KZ650
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
cratgo wrote:

remember the 750b's pistons run togehter, parallel, so you're getting all 748?ccs punching back at you at the same time