Replace cam chain or not?

More
07 Sep 2006 20:33 #75205 by fishbone1
Replace cam chain or not? was created by fishbone1
Hi all,
Long time lurker ....small number poster. I have a 1982 KZ750LTD with a little over 19k miles on it. I bought it not running. When I pulled it apart I found a bent exhaust valve and 2 stuck tappets(buckets). I will check all the valves when my new valve compressor tool arrives. Should I consider replacing the cam chain while I have it apart? How long do the cam chains typically last? From what I can tell the auto tensioner still has almost 1/2" of adjustment left. Thank you for your input.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Sep 2006 20:37 #75206 by RonKZ650
Replied by RonKZ650 on topic Replace cam chain or not?
Cam chain should last a long time. No need to replace at that mileage. I'm not sure if your bike is hyvo or conventional chain. I have little experience with the hyvos, but conventionals will go 100,000+ miles.

321,000 miles on KZ's that I can remember. Not going to see any more.

More
08 Sep 2006 05:48 #75243 by wiredgeorge
Replied by wiredgeorge on topic Replace cam chain or not?