• Page:

TOPIC:

Welding Advice 05 Jul 2023 05:42 #886856

• GrumpierGrunt
  • GrumpierGrunt's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Cast Aluminum Motorcycle Engine Case Repair

Hi all, I have no experience getting something professionally welded. I am looking for advice on repairing a shoddy repair to a 1985 Kawasaki GPZ 750 turbo engine case. At one point, it looks like the bike fell over on the right side and cracked the right side of the engine case, the part of the case that holds the pulsing coil. It’s a dry seal with no oil in it.

Picture 1 is of the damage. Regarding item number one, the previous owner must have removed the damaged section and installed this patch. It’s the wrong thickness metal and most likely does not provide a seal that would keep out the elements. It should look like photo 2. Also, the thread that holds the cap/cover bolts was removed. I bought a donor case, pictured in photo 3, would the best approach here be to weld a patch from the donor after removing the damaged piece?

Regarding item 2, as mentioned above the previous owner removed and tapped out the  original thread. It should look like something like the circled area in photo 4 and 5. What is the best way to repair this thread so that I can use the original hardware? The owner used longer thicker bolts to hold the cover/cap on. This bike is a restoration project, so I’m trying to make it look as factory as possible. I figured for the thread in repair 1, he could just use the thread from the patch from the donor motor. These threads just hold on a cap/cover, not much torque. 

I plan on taking it to a professional, just would like some perspectives on how a welder would approach this.

additional photos below
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Street Fighter LTD.

Welding Advice 05 Jul 2023 05:43 #886857

• GrumpierGrunt
  • User
Additional photos mentioned in initial post
Attachments: