Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

GPz 750 compression problem 20 Sep 2019 12:23 #811116

• Jimski
  • Jimski's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Z750E - about to be reborn....
  • Thank you received: 1
Could you folks put my mind at rest that I'm not doing anything completely stupid please?

I'm a reasonably able home mechanic but not rebuilt an engine in years (I've previously had z1000s, 750, 250s, xs11, various Triumphs).

I picked up an ealy unitrack GPz750 a couple of years back as a project. Previous owner had died in 2002 so it hadn't run since then.

I had to strip the head for a helicoil, rebuilt it but had no compression, all 4 cylinders. It went in the shed for later.

I just had some spare time so I restripped the head, checked valve leakage (fine), bores looked fine, rebuilt it - no compression again.

So I pulled it again, barrels as well, rings were sticky so I freed them, bores look fine. Head doesn't look warped (checked in case helicoil had warped it).

Since I had a full gasket set I pulled all the valves, checked they're straight, seat well, cleaned the carbon, replaced the stem oil seals etc. Then I rebuilt the engine with new gaskets all round, turned it over - no compression. I mean *none*. Can't read any on my compression gauge, not even finger over plug hole (engine spun with new battery, exhaust and carbs removed).

I'm pulling my hair out! I've got the right cams in place, set the sprockets as per the manual (Kawasaki and Haynes), cam operation looks correct.

I've got to try and beg a compressor from somewhere for a leak down test but until then I'm stumped.

Cam sprockets are set to z7ex exhaust, IN inlet, 45/46 pins apart flush with head (as near as possible). The notches on the ends of the cams are 180 degrees opposite at tdc. Even with ring wear there should be *some* compression.