What do you think of this valve job?

More
08 Jan 2018 17:12 #777084 by chikosneff
What do you think of this valve job? was created by chikosneff
Dear KZriders, I am restoring my 1978 KZ400B and I just finished refreshing the top end with new piston rings and a valve job. Everything was heavily coated with carbon and it took me a lot of effort to clean it up. As this is my first time lapping valves I would like you to take a look at the end result. I did it by hand using fine abrasive paste. I lapped every valve for around 10-15 minutes or whatever it took for the paste noise to become quiet enough.
I am attaching images for each valve and seat let me know what you think!
Thank you.

1978 KZ400 B

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jan 2018 19:29 #777089 by JOE MKII
Replied by JOE MKII on topic What do you think of this valve job?
Never tried to do a valve job myself so kudos for going for it !!!
Did you see if they leak by using a bit of gas down the ports and looking closely fir seeping?
I think there’s a spec’ed width for the contact area , did you measure the contact patch?
I’ll be watching to see what the experts say!

I believe its called "Oppositional Defiance Disorder"
The following user(s) said Thank You: chikosneff

More
08 Jan 2018 19:53 #777090 by Nessism
Replied by Nessism on topic What do you think of this valve job?
As long as the seat width isn't out of spec and you didn't wear a groove in the valve it should be fine. Personally, I like to find a local machine shop use a centerless grinder on the valves to renew them. It only costs about $4 each so it's worth it.

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
08 Jan 2018 20:17 #777091 by SWest
Replied by SWest on topic What do you think of this valve job?
How much rock is there in the guides using the valves? Looks to me the seat print on the valves are wider than the seats in the head. The ones on the head look good.
Steve

More