Countershaft tranny bearing

More
05 Nov 2016 04:43 #747319 by JOE MKII
Countershaft tranny bearing was created by JOE MKII
I just started working on my 1980 KZ1000 MKII, I received it with and the motor didn't turn over, I knew it was transmission related and tracked it down to the bearing at the front sprocket countershaft.
I did a few searches and this looks like a it might be a common failure.

Is this common?
What else should I look for once the trans is out?
I have ability but it is limited as far as measuring run outs and stuff like that.
Do you all think its best to send it out to be checked or just replace the bearing (if all else looks good to the eye) ?

I know theses are pretty broad questions I have limited experience with KZ's and I have no factory manual and they seem to be a scarce commodity so ALL advice is appreciated.
Thanks

[IMG

[IMG

[IMG

I believe its called "Oppositional Defiance Disorder"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
05 Nov 2016 07:19 #747332 by SWest
Replied by SWest on topic Countershaft tranny bearing
I tried to repair my tranny but it didn't last long. I wound up buying a low mile KZ 900 one, back cut the 2nd gear dogs myself and have been running it 2 years no problems. The countershaft bearing is pretty stout. It could have been damaged by the sprocket coming off or the PO running a junk chain too long.I'd like to see pics of the rest of it.
Steve

• slmjim+Z1BEBE
  • User
  • Enjoy Life! IT HAS AN EXPIRATION DATE!
More
05 Nov 2016 08:30 #747333 by slmjim+Z1BEBE
Replied by slmjim+Z1BEBE on topic Countershaft tranny bearing
One of the most common causes of countershaft bearing failure is running the final drive chain too tight. We have over 60,000 mi. on two of out Z-1's and between 15,000 and 35,000 miles on our other three, all on the original bottom ends.