Help, blown piston ring?

More
17 Jun 2016 20:08 - 18 Jun 2016 16:50 #731819 by ERICLOSO
Help, blown piston ring? was created by ERICLOSO
OK... SMH, here it goes.........

I have a kz440, 1982. Bought it about a month ago, put about 150 miles on it. It was running great since I bought it but I overfilled it with oil, not realizing the bike has to be level to read the oil window... I know total newb mistake.. :S After overfilling I drove about 30 miles, started losing power on the highway, got off noticed smoke from the intake pods, (pods were on when i bought it) let it cool off, came back started up let it run, seemed fine, drove another 30 miles, was losing power along the way sometimes resulting in a stall. Got to my destination, googled symptoms, found I overfilled it, drained it to the right fill amount.

NOW, Bike wont go a mile without misfiring, losing power and sometimes stalling as a result of losing power. Also, blow-by still coming from the air filters after riding a short distance.

I am hoping the power loss is coincidence and could possibly be a dying coil, but the more I read about overfilling I'm starting to think I may have blown some seals. Would this result in the symptoms I'm getting? Please! AnY help, advice, critisism, etc is helpful!! I'm not sensitive lay it on me! Anyone with experience with blown rings? Valve seals? Blow-by? Coil? I'm at a loss, can't find my exact symptoms on any forums......... HELPPPPP!

Also, just got the carbs cleaned professionally and i'm still having the exact same problem.
Last edit: 18 Jun 2016 16:50 by ERICLOSO.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
17 Jun 2016 20:37 #731821 by SWest
Replied by SWest on topic Help, blown piston ring?
Sounds like tight intake valves. Pics of plugs? Blow by coming out of the breather?
Steve
The following user(s) said Thank You: ERICLOSO

More
18 Jun 2016 04:26 #731831 by Nessism