Wiseco 2835xc ring end gaps too large

• Ktm181
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Man made it, so Man can fix it
More
04 Jun 2016 20:58 #730115 by Ktm181
Hello Gentlemen,

I am just beginning to put the top end of a 1075 Kz back together, went to measure ring end gaps on a brand new set of rings from Wiseco and found top ring at 12 thou and 2nd at approx 23 thou, the rings i am taking out are at 12 top and 15 second ring making me think i have incorrect second rings in the brand new kits!
Bore is standard 1075 with two and one half though piston to bore clearance so all good, rings that were fitted were good but as i had the top end off for new stem seals and it had been sitting for some years i thought i'd do the rings at the same time. The new piston rings supplied by Z1e are saying made in Japan on the box and comp rings appear same as the originals being taken out but the oil control expander is of a different type.
Have any of you found Wiseco piston ring end gaps too large straight out of the box? I a thinking they might be incorrectly packed 1045 rings in 2838xc boxdes?
cheers,
Kt.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
04 Jun 2016 21:21 #730119 by SWest
Replied by SWest on topic Wiseco 2835xc ring end gaps too large
Possible. They sent one wrong piston. It was bigger and for a four valve. I'm not at home now or I would put up their spec sheet. Didn't you get them inside the ring boxes? Orange paper.
Steve

• Ktm181
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Man made it, so Man can fix it
More
04 Jun 2016 23:00 #730126 by Ktm181
Replied by Ktm181 on topic Wiseco 2835xc ring end gaps too large
Hey Steve
thanks for the reply, i thought it too late over there!