Valve clearance remeasuring

More
31 Jan 2016 14:19 #708785 by Shimmy
Valve clearance remeasuring was created by Shimmy
Hi guys,

This may be a dumb question, but I didn't find the answer searching. I'm doing a valve adjustment, and one has clearance too small to measure. So I'm going to swap a smaller shim and remeasure, I was just wondering if that requires reinstalling both camshafts with the chain, making sure for the right number of links, etc., or if I can just bolt down the one camshaft in an orientation that would allow me to remeasure the one valve.

This is my first time doing it, so I wouldn't be opposed to the practice reassembling everything, I just wanted to know what's officially required.

Thanks!

1980 KZ750 LTD
Edmonton, Alberta

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jan 2016 14:46 #708789 by JR
Replied by JR on topic Valve clearance remeasuring
Just use a ziptie through a hole in the camshaft sprocket and around the cam chain so when you lift the camshaft out of the way the position of the chain relative to the sprocket does not move.
I usually ziptie both camshafts.
Gpod luck

1980 kz750E1, Delkevic exhaust

More
31 Jan 2016 16:03 #708796 by Shimmy
Replied by Shimmy on topic Valve clearance remeasuring
Hmm, I didn't think I'd be able to get the buckets out like that but I'll have to give it a shot.

1980 KZ750 LTD
Edmonton, Alberta

More
31 Jan 2016 17:33 #708810 by JR
Yes
Just zip tie the chain to the sprocket.
Remove the cam caps for that cam
Lift back the cam
Use a magnet to pull the bucket and current shim together
Replace shim
No problem
Just be careful putting back the cam caps. Double check the torque spec and go easy as those cam cap bolts with strip the threads so easily. Been there done that.

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
31 Jan 2016 17:43 #708813 by SWest
Replied by SWest on topic Valve clearance remeasuring