To Bore or not to Bore? GPZ550

• austymcnausty
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
23 Nov 2015 16:02 #700184 by austymcnausty
To Bore or not to Bore? GPZ550 was created by austymcnausty
I have a 1982 GPZ 550 that was given to me. PO (my brother) ran it lean with pod filters and an exhaust leak, and blew a hole in one of the pistons. I thought the cylinders were in pretty good shape, but when I looked closer, I noticed some scoring in 2 of the cylinders. One pistons rings were seized, and that cylinder is scored the worst.

I'm a noob, and have never bored an engine. What do you guys think, judging by the pics? Is it necessary to bore it?

Also, the Wiseco kit seems to be the most popular choice from what i've read on this forum. The only problem is i'm on a very tight budget with this thing. I've crunched the numbers and Wiseco kit, boring, and gaskets will probably cost me $600-$650. Seems like a lot of money for a bike that still needs a lot more TLC after I button the engine up. I'm tempted to try one of the cheap big bore kits on Ebay...$140 shipped, Does anyone have any experience with these "no-name" generic kits? I'm skeptical, but the price difference makes it very tempting to at least try. If it's shite, well, lesson learned and i'll save up for the Wiseco. Any help would be appreciated.

Austin
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tyrell Corp
  • User
  • "You were made as well as we could make you"
More
23 Nov 2015 16:17 #700188 by Tyrell Corp
Replied by Tyrell Corp on topic To Bore or not to Bore? GPZ550
If you google 'criuzin image' pistons, or Forsetti here recently here there are conflicting opinions, but not much in the way of facts. For a standard motor in mild tune then I think they would be ok. They ship from japan but are chinese manufacture.

1980 Gpz550 D1, 1981 GPz550 D1. 1982 GPz750R1. 1983 z1000R R2. all four aces

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
23 Nov 2015 16:23 #700190 by SWest