'78 KZ650B won't shift gears

More
27 Jul 2014 10:49 #641607 by mvincent
'78 KZ650B won't shift gears was created by mvincent
Hello All-
A little bit of a newbie here so bear with me! Here is a quick rundown of the situation:

The other day my front sprocket came loose, so I was able to switch gears, but was unable to engage the engine. I went in and placed the front sprocket back on, and everything seemed fine. I took the bike for a ride around the block with no problems.
I had to order a new flanged nut (which was missing... the reason the front sprocket fell off in the first place.). When I received the nut I went and tightened it with the lock washer finger tight just as the book says. I figured I might as well do a clutch adjustment since I was working in that area, followed the instructions in the book as best I could, started the bike up and.... now I cannot change gears.
It almost feels as if it is locked, or as if something is in the way. It just won't click over smoothly as it always had. I took the nut off just to test if that maybe was blocking something but no such luck. My only theory is that I somehow messed something up when adjusting the clutch, but I am a little lost at this point.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jul 2014 15:51 #641646 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic '78 KZ650B won't shift gears
You state:
"I had to order a new flanged nut (which was missing... the reason the front sprocket fell off in the first place.). When I received the nut I went and tightened it with the lock washer finger tight just as the book says. "

First of all, to my knowledge there are no nuts at all on any KZ model that should only be tightened "finger tight." If you tightened the countersprocket nut finger tight you are going to have a problem very soon when it comes off. What manual stated finger tight?