K&N Oil FIlters

More
13 Jun 2014 13:04 - 13 Jun 2014 13:05 #636507 by 650ed
K&N Oil FIlters was created by 650ed
I have been using K&N (KN-401) oil filters since 2005 and was very pleased with their quality. In the last batch I bought (September 2013) I found they are now made in China. When I noticed this I compared the new filters to the old ones; I had 4 old ones and 4 new ones to compare. The filters made in China are of inferior quality. I found that the old ones, which were made in Thailand, each had 61 pleats, and the filters were all the exact same height. The new filters from China each have 57 pleats - that's a 6.5% decrease in filtering media, and they vary in height by more than 1/8". I'm not saying they are trash, but K&N definitely has lowered the quality of their oil filters.

In September sent an email to K&N regarding this change, but they did not reply. That leaves me with the impression that they do not care about the customer.

Before these are all used I will start looking at different oil filters to see how they compare. If anyone has a favorite oil filter I'd like to hear about it.
Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Last edit: 13 Jun 2014 13:05 by 650ed.
The following user(s) said Thank You: P21, nickleo373

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jun 2014 13:31 #636508 by Tyler
Replied by Tyler on topic K&N Oil FIlters
Ed I have never really liked K&N, back when I was a mechanic I made good money fixing MAF and throttle body sensors gunked up with that red oil. Their oil filters for both motorcycles and cars are just plain over priced. I try to find WIX filter products when I can. I think they have decent consistentt quality and are reasonably priced. They can be found at OReilly's and I believe some are sold under a NAPA brand.

Just my 2 cents...

If I knew what I was doing all the time life wouldn't be any fun.