turned crankshaft with tensioner off.

More
20 Jan 2014 16:46 - 20 Jan 2014 16:52 #619343 by jsmey567
turned crankshaft with tensioner off. was created by jsmey567
My bike has been sitting for a while so I decided to hit the kick start a couple times softly to see if the engine had seized from sitting. I hadn't messed with the bike in a while, so I completely forgot that I had taken the cam chain tensioner off of the bike. Did I completely screw the timing, or should I not be that worried about it? I only lightly hit the kickstart twice with my hand to see if it would turn over. My bike is a 77 kz 650
Last edit: 20 Jan 2014 16:52 by jsmey567. Reason: forgot

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2014 17:28 #619348 by JimB
Replied by JimB on topic turned crankshaft with tensioner off.
I am still learning about the KZ's I only have three at this point :) ,...so someone with more experience should chim in. But if you did not feel it slip a tooth you should be OK. When you install a new cam chain you turn the cams via the nut in the points cover until No1 is TDC then you tighten the tensioner. But you can always just remove the cam cover and check the alignment via the alignment arrows on the cam and the T markon the advancer,...just in case you think you might have felt a slip.
Jim

1978 KZ1000A2, 1980 KZ1000E, 1980 KZ1000B4 LTD

More
20 Jan 2014 18:50 #619363 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic turned crankshaft with tensioner off.