So.....I'm thinking of changing the rings.

More
05 Sep 2012 00:14 #546740 by PRM068
G'day guys,

recently I've thought about redoing the top end of my motor (1982 KZ1000 LTD).

I've never done this before. Sure, I've pulled engines out, replaced boxes etc (in old Valiants mind you), but never tinkered with the actual "guts" of a motor.

I have my factory Kawasaki manual - I've read all the stuff about ripping it down and replacing rings etc.

I was hoping someone could explain in simple terms, what is the process of getting new rings and possibly valves etc ? Like, when you take the old rings off, do you simply buy the same ones, are valves simply thrown out and new ones put in of the same type ?
I always here of "oversized this and that".......all i want to do is freshen up my motor, and I hope I'm not getting in over my head. Should I be checking Ebay for inlet and exhaust valves that suit my KZ......I realise I may have to get the head checked, but what happens to valve size if they have to clean it up ?

Hope I'm not over simplifying things....just thought I'd ask in case there's some easy answers to help me undrestand what to do. At the moment my bike is running great BUT......I'm always cleaning up plug 2 and the pistons look a little "wet" on top. The bike uses a little oil but isn't blowing heaps of smoke. I just feel it may be a little tired and could use a freshen up. In saying that - I could just as easy leave it alone and ride it till something goes awry.

Thanks,

Peter

1982 KZ1000 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Sep 2012 02:54 #546768 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic So.....I'm thinking of changing the rings.