no compression on revalved head?

More
21 Jun 2012 19:46 #530825 by richrand
no compression on revalved head? was created by richrand
I put all new valves in my 1977's head, reassembled the motor but I'm getting no compression. The gasket is new. The valves I used were for a 1976 (square keepers) but it was my understanding that the valves themselves were compatible so long as you used the right keepers (which I did -- i ordered the square ones). Once I determined that there was no compression, I called it a day. Any ideas about what my next step should be? I'm a novice. Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
21 Jun 2012 21:15 #530841 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic no compression on revalved head?
You say you put some valves in. Please expend on that a bit, did you use new valves, or grind the old ones you had? Did you check the guides, and cut the valve seat angles? Did you check for install height? Check the valve clearance to camshaft? Etc.

1982 KZ1000LTD K2 Vance & Hines 4-1 ACCEL COILS Added Vetter fairing & Bags. FOX Racing rear Shocks, Braced Swing-arm, Fork Brace, Progressive Fork Springs RT Gold Emulators, APE Valve Springs, 1166 Big Bore kit, RS34's, GPZ cams.
1980 KZ550LTD C1 Stock SOLD Miss it
1979 MAZDA RX7 in the works, 13B...
The following user(s) said Thank You: wireman

More
21 Jun 2012 22:14 #530861 by richrand
Replied by richrand on topic no compression on revalved head?

Motor Head wrote: You say you put some valves in. Please expend on that a bit, did you use new valves, or grind the old ones you had? Did you check the guides, and cut the valve seat angles? Did you check for install height? Check the valve clearance to camshaft? Etc.