Hard to start then idles but dies with throttle

More
18 Jun 2012 16:31 #530120 by Buddo
I have been riding a 1984 KZ700 for about two months.

The bike has intermittent starting/running issues for the past two weeks and now it will barely run at all.

I rode to the beach on Friday night, parked for two hours and then it had trouble starting and once it started, it backfires, runs poorly, dies on even a little throttle. I had to call a tow truck to get it home.

Any suggestions as to where to start? It did the same thing a couple weeks ago, but eventually started and ran fine again. I have a strong battery, a new starter and the bike was running well when I stopped at the beach.

John

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2012 16:57 #530130 by tinlizzie37
Replied by tinlizzie37 on topic Hard to start then idles but dies with throttle
Hi John, Check your carb mounts to the engine. It sounds as if you have a bad air leak there. Does it start and run good other times or once in a while? When's the last time you had new plugs put in, or the carbs cleaned. Another thing that should be done, is all the electrical connections cleaned, usually with De-oxit. I used Scotch Brite and chrome cleaner for the males and folded over pipe cleaners and chrome cleaner for the female ones. It takes quite a while to do this, but it's well worth it in the long run. Get the factory manual and check your coils per instructions, also the spark plug wires. It does take much to make these old bikes run for crap, not only Kaws, but other makes also. Good luck. Bob

Bob KZ 650 E1, En 450

More
18 Jun 2012 17:52 - 18 Jun 2012 17:53 #530142 by Powerstroke_fan
Replied by Powerstroke_fan on topic Hard to start then idles but dies with throttle