Bike Starting Issue

More
16 Oct 2010 10:38 #407024 by Tracker
Bike Starting Issue was created by Tracker
Hey everyone!

Im a bit new to working on bikes so please try and understand.

I recently bought a 1981 KZ750 and it had a slight starting issue. The starter would turn the engine SOMETIMES and others it would sound like the starter is spinning but not turning the engine. Usually if I just play with it for a sec it would catch and start the bike right up. Once running and hot I could shut the bike off and start it again with out ever having a problem, its just that initial cold start.

I took the starter off and checked it and it seems to be spinning just fine. I put a little pressure on the gear to make sure that it would spin even if something is holding it and it still spun.

Someone told me that it may be the starter clutch but I really just wanted to double check that...

The gear the starter connects to in the engine if I spin it to the left (towards the front of the bike) it spins freely. If spun the other direction (towards the back of the bike) it can not be turned by hand.

Can anyone help me figure out what this issue is so I can get it fixed and hopefully get a couple more rides before it gets too cold.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hugo
  • Sustaining Member
  • '92 Zephyr 750
More
16 Oct 2010 13:03 - 16 Oct 2010 13:09 #407034 by hugo
Replied by hugo on topic Bike Starting Issue
It sounds like the starter clutch is slipping sometimes. When it does engine does not turn, and sounds like marbles inside.

The gear movement is the way is supposed to be, as the starting clutch only cranks on one direction, and free wheels on the the other one.

Most people only change the rollers and the springs on the starting clutch, but the race on the hub also wears, and mostly is not visible.