valve cover gasket

• rtdakota2001
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • MOPAR or NO CAR
More
29 May 2009 22:11 #294941 by rtdakota2001
valve cover gasket was created by rtdakota2001
well i just bought myself a 80 KZ1000 shaft drive last weekend and so far i love it. only thing wrong is i have to do a valve cover gasket. anyone done this before? i am currently a mechanic (dodge, specifically) and was wondering if there is anything i should watch out for or anything special i have to do. i am by no means mechanically challenged so i don't for see this being a huge deal but let me know guys, i appreciate it.;)

1980 KZ1000 shaft
2001 dodge dakota, fully built, waiting for n2o tuning.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• oldkaws4ever
  • User
  • Have no regrets...... You only live once.
More
29 May 2009 22:32 #294945 by oldkaws4ever
Replied by oldkaws4ever on topic valve cover gasket
Not that big of a deal to do at all. Just make sure you take out all the valve cover bolts. The cover comes off from the rear over the carbs. If ya get stuck you can put up something here and we will help ya out, there are a great group of guy's here.

74 Z1a 900 (Apart and making it better than ever)
77 Kz 650b (Threw a rod, going to sandwich in a 900 or 1000 motor)
76 Kz 400d
05 ninja zx-636
81 Kz 750 Ltd
Darien, Illinois

More
30 May 2009 04:27 #294979 by Mcdroid
Replied by Mcdroid on topic valve cover gasket
I might add that you should determine if the valve cover gasket needs replacing versus one or more of the cam shaft plugs. If they are the issue, then just replacing the gasket will not help. In either scenario, the valve cover gasket needs replacing. If you also replace the cam end plugs, you'll need gasket sealer for the plugs. The valve cover gasket goes on dry. :)

Michael
Victoria, Texas

1982 GPz750
1977 KZ1000A
1978 KZ1000A
1982 GPz1100
1975 Z2A

More
30 May 2009 06:23 #294993 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic valve cover gasket