Rookie about to start a rebuild. 76" KZ900

• spearsgaryhi
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
01 May 2009 22:22 - 01 May 2009 22:55 #287118 by spearsgaryhi
Rookie about to start a rebuild. 76" KZ900 was created by spearsgaryhi
I'm a rookie to this but love to learn and have been. Thanks to all of the great guys, and girls,(if your out there?) who contribute to the threads. I'm planning on rebuilding my engine 76' KZ900 with nearly 40,000 miles on her starting this next week after the carburator rebuild is out of the way. As well as the rest of my bike eventualy. But this is about the engine. I've been doing lots and lots of homework. I have the clymer manual, and then ordered the Kawasaki Shop Manual due to advice given on this sight. I have two torque wrenches coming. One that measures in foot pounds, and one that measures in inch pounds. A set of fealer gages, and a micrometer. I'll need to acquire more tools for this. but there all mentioned in the manuals. What I'd like to know is. What parts should I most definitely replace while I have her apart. I have already ordered a complete gasket set from my local Kawasaki dealer. The Cam chain is another thing I know of threw reading threads hear. Thanks to timebomb33. I've learned allot from you already timebomb. Just wondering if there is anything ells that's a (might as well replace now that you got her apart) type deal. Possible tools not mentioned in the manuals that would make the job go smoother would be great to. Thanks every one for contributing to the sight. Past present and future. Your a big help already. Aloha, Gary Spears.
Last edit: 01 May 2009 22:55 by spearsgaryhi. Reason: added milage to the post.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 May 2009 05:50 #287141 by Old Man Rock
Replied by Old Man Rock on topic Rookie about to start a rebuild. 76" KZ900
Good choice of bike... ;) :laugh: