BENT VALVES?

• KOOL RYDER
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • KZ 650B2 / KZ 1000E
More
27 Jan 2009 13:45 #260492 by KOOL RYDER
BENT VALVES? was created by KOOL RYDER
Lets say I had bent valves, how difficult and costly would this problem be to resolve?

I am a novice mechanic, is this something that I should attempt to fix on my own or get a shop to look into it for me?

Rockin\' a KZ650B2 since 2007 and a KZ 1000E since 2008

1978 KZ650B
1979 KZ1000ST

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jan 2009 14:11 #260495 by keith1
Replied by keith1 on topic BENT VALVES?
hypothetically, what happened?

• KOOL RYDER
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • KZ 650B2 / KZ 1000E
More
27 Jan 2009 14:16 #260496 by KOOL RYDER
Replied by KOOL RYDER on topic BENT VALVES?
I was adjusting the cam chain tension on my bike.
I started it with the electric start (what a dummy) the chain was not under tension and it sounded like a chainsaw was up against my valve cover.

Anyways after it started backfiring out of the carbs.

I spoke to some people and they said it maybe the timing is off due to skipped links, but with me I am assuming the worst.Bent valves.

If that is the cas you guys might find a parts bike up on the block pretty soon, unless some one can reassure me that I can give it a try.

I have heard, that the #1 needs to be at TDC and then you need to count back a certain # of teeth, but I have a lot of homework to do and I have never pried the valve cover off it before.

1978 KZ650B
1979 KZ1000ST

More
27 Jan 2009 14:21 #260498 by keith1
KOOL RYDER wrote:

I was adjusting the cam chain tension on my bike.
I started it with the electric start (what a dummy) the chain was not under tension and it sounded like a chainsaw was up against my valve cover.

Anyways after it started backfiring out of the carbs.

I spoke to some people and they said it maybe the timing is off due to skipped links, but with me I am assuming the worst.Bent valves.