can,t engage gears, slipping

More
11 Jun 2008 16:15 #219421 by drfantastik
can,t engage gears, slipping was created by drfantastik
Hello all, #1 I am a noob, completely, to bikes, kawasakis, and forums all together. So please pardon any brain dead questions. I recently bought a 77 kz650 in running but not perfectly running condition. I thought I finally had it set for a good test ride (10 or so trips around the neighborhood), everything seemed good for the most part, but then I parked for about 1 hour, came back out to a puddle under my bike and now it won't engage gears right, the rpms rev but no or very little power to the wheel. But when I let off the throttle it gets a brief second of engagement, just enough to jerk the bike. I am lost, any ideas?

\'77 KZ650C
Harrisburg, PA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• PFC FNG
  • User
  • I've got the sickness!!!
More
11 Jun 2008 17:27 #219433 by PFC FNG
Replied by PFC FNG on topic can,t engage gears, slipping
What was the puddle?

I know it would not be any fun if it was easy, but does it have to be this much fun?
84 ZX750 GPZ (Waiting for paint)
Eastpoint, Mi

More
11 Jun 2008 17:59 #219445 by Bluemeanie
Replied by Bluemeanie on topic can,t engage gears, slipping
PFC FNG wrote:

What was the puddle?

... and how big was the puddle?

1980 KZ650F1, Bought new out the door for $2,162.98!

More
11 Jun 2008 20:29 #219502 by drfantastik
Replied by drfantastik on topic can,t engage gears, slipping
not sure what it was, but it was clean, so im guessing not engine oil maybe tranny. It was about 6 in. diameter, and was still dripping when I got to it

\'77 KZ650C
Harrisburg, PA

More
11 Jun 2008 22:09 #219523 by Makarth
Replied by Makarth on topic can,t engage gears, slipping
wuh!! clear fluid? engine and tranny share same oil. it's why you want to use non-detergent oil or oil formulated for bikes. i don't know about the clutch system on a 650.

good luck