loud bang, bright flash, then the stop lamp came on...

More
22 Aug 2007 19:14 #165754 by nosbearatu
I have an '81 KZ550 that I've been riding for about 10 months now. This evening I had my first real problem with the bike.

I was riding home on the freeway the tach was at 6000 RPM and had been around there for about 20-30 minutes, all of a sudden there was a lound bang under me accompanied by a bright flash. I went shit that was a big backfire (I think I was rolling of the throttle at the time) but then I looked at the tach and the stop lamp is lit, shit. So I pull to the side of the road, try to look over the bike in the dark (I don't really see much of anything) I try to start the bike again after it sat a few minutes and it fired up just like normal, no lights nothing, I run it down the shoulder of the highway, nothing seems any different than normal. All I can notice is the slight ticking from my valve train that I have had for a while (only noticible when at idle).

So I guess my first question is what does the stop lamp on my bike actually indicate (ie what is it hooked to) I don't have a manual to tell me these things. Also any ideas where to look first when it gets light out.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• RetroRiceRocketRider
  • User
  • ...bring in the machine that goes PING!
More
22 Aug 2007 20:04 #165761 by RetroRiceRocketRider
Replied by RetroRiceRocketRider on topic loud bang, bright flash, then the stop lamp came on...
Sounds like you've got a short in the wiring somewhere.

First thing you're going to want to do before even starting the bike again is to check ALL of the wiring, connectors and fuse box for problems.
The wiring underneath the fuel tank and inside/behind the headlight are the usual areas shorts appear, since there are plenty of spots where the wires can be pinched or rubbed through.