KZ700 locked up?

More
04 May 2007 15:57 #137123 by 84kz700
KZ700 locked up? was created by 84kz700
Well i rode my kz700 to school today (as usual) it ran perfect all the way there and when i got out of school it fired right up, ran fine, then the trouble started when I hit the highway. When I got on the highway I was doing about 80 (my normal cruising speed) and I heard a rubing noise, it was a weird noise, almost like the wind blowing but when I let go out the throttle the noise went away well when I gave it gas the motor just quit firing and it died (almost like it ran out of gas) I pulled over to the side of the highway and the motor has been locked ever since! I pulled the plugs and they all look great (not smashed and they are burning nice) so i am thinking it is the crank bearings? I am really stumped and i am a beginner with these inline 4 cylinders but im not afraid to tear into it, im a strong believer of "if you watch how you tear it apart it will go back together the same way" Well do you guys have any suggestions? Like I said i am really stumped on this one!

THX in advance
BLAIR
RIDE TO LIVE, LIVE TO RIDE...
TOMARROW

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 May 2007 21:33 #137231 by steell
Replied by steell on topic KZ700 locked up?
It would be really difficult for the crank bearing to lock up the motor, if they seized to the crank they would just spin in the case (and pretty well destroy the case).

If the motor is locked up solid, then more than likely it overheated and seized the pistons to the cylinder walls. Take the head off and take a look.

KD9JUR

More
05 May 2007 06:04 #137267 by 84kz700
Replied by 84kz700 on topic KZ700 locked up?
I think I may pull the head off today.....but I am worried about the timing, I have no clue how to adjust the timing so is there a way I can take it apart without changing the timing?

More
05 May 2007 06:59 #137275 by steell