Low Compression?!

More
01 May 2007 14:02 #136164 by Aulus
Low Compression?! was created by Aulus
Greetings All,

Ok, I recently acquired a KZ440 '82 with about 3,000 original owner miles. The thing is cherry but dusty. I have a Clymer Manual and have purchased all of the tools listed for a Full Tune-up. While going through the tune-up, i checked piston compression (cold engine) after adjusting the valve clearance (first time ever carrying out such a procedure). What I found was disturbing... ~30 psi!!! I went through the forum's posts and tried putting 1/4 tablespoon of oil into the spark plug holes, then remeasuring compression. No change. Which leads me to believe it is the valve clearances. My understanding of valve clearances leads me to believe that the valves are not fully closing.

I AM a novice wrencher, and that was my first time going through valve-tappet clearance adjustments, but I know that I left a gap between the tappets and the valve/head. Any advice or hunches? This afternoon I'll be checking the valve clearances again, just to make sure there is still a gap.
Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 May 2007 14:04 #136165 by Aulus
Replied by Aulus on topic Low Compression?!
In addition, I've fouled two sets of plugs and they looked black and wet. Couldn't distinguish between oil or gas smells at the time, but will definately do a full sniff comparison with a can of oil and the gas tank.

More
01 May 2007 14:30 #136168 by steell
Replied by steell on topic Low Compression?!
When you did the compression test, you did hold the throttle wide open, right?

I don't think the motor would even run with only 30 psi of compression.

KD9JUR

• Skyman
  • User
  • 1978 KZ1000-B2 LTD 1982 KZ1000-M2 CSR
More
01 May 2007 14:30 #136169 by Skyman
Replied by Skyman on topic Low Compression?!