clutch adjustment

More
28 Apr 2007 13:36 #135008 by scirocco17
clutch adjustment was created by scirocco17
my clutch is effective during about the last 4mm of travel of the hand lever. the barrel adjuster is adjusted all the way out on the lever body. when the clutch is let out it doesn't slip at all, it's just that only having about 4mm to work with is tough when starting from a stop, on a hill or just whenever the clutch is used. (so, not that often except for all the time) ANYWAY, is there another adjustment somewhere, or do i need to replace the clutch? this is on my 84 zn700 shaft.
thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Apr 2007 14:45 #135016 by Kiwiz
Replied by Kiwiz on topic clutch adjustment
yep,

I have no experience of your model but own a 1000J of like vintage. In there it describes adjusting the clutch on a larger capacity shaftie, and I would bet that yours is similar.

There is an adjuster in the cover just near the gear change lever.

Adjustment involves removing the adjuster cover, which requires the gear change lever to be removed. The adjuster is inside that cover and is pretty straight forward to deal with once the cover is off.

Firstly slacken the cable adjuster right off and unclip cable from lever. After removing the gear change (10mm spanner and circlip pliers), loosen the tin cover over the starter (beneath carbs) and remove the 4 long bolts holding the cover on (10mm heads again) When replacing be careful not to over tighten as the aluminum threads are easy to strip.

I quote from Clymer: "Once the adjuster is revealed loosen lock nut and turn adjusting screw clockwise until resistance is met. Turn the adjusting screw back 1/4 turn counterclickwise from there and tighten lock nut. make sure the screw does not turn as lock nut is tightened". refit cable at handle bar and adjust so that there is sufficent slack (1/4 inch or so)