Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Help KZ200 keeps dying. 15 May 2014 18:53 #632604

• Kz200Kid
  • Kz200Kid's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey guys so I'm new to all this any help would be great. So I just bought a 1979 kz200 in very good condition in my eyes starts great and sounds healthy. I bought it from an old man. I road the bike for 5 mins and it ran great so I bought it. The bike has a new battery and coil and plug and oil change that's all I know. When I got the bike home I just road it on my side streets for a couple of days and it ran great like new. When I got my plates for it I took it for a ride going average speeds of 40 -45 mph with no problem and still had a hell of alot of throttle left. After like 30 mins of riding it started to bog out and died. started it back up with a few kicks and electric start and it was real sensitive when I got it started back up and it would die again when giving it some gas waited like 1hr and half bike start right up again and ran great for like 35 mins and did the same thing. Also when I bought the bike the guy told me that the headlight did not work. I didn't think nothing of it until I checked the fuses the middle fuse is blown. The guy was bike savvy and I find it hard to believe he didn't check the fuse to see if that would fix the light problem Or maybe I'm just over paranoid because of this problem i'm having. Lol i'm hoping it's not a big problem because the bike runs great and sounds great for those 30 minutes that it runs Thanks guys any help would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by KZQ.

Help KZ200 keeps dying. 15 May 2014 19:07 #632605

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2829
It doesn't sound at all like a carb problem to me; I would not touch the carb!