Ridin in the Rain

More
25 Jul 2012 18:31 #538604 by Kevin STP
Ridin in the Rain was created by Kevin STP
I am new to street riding this summer and am a bit nervous about riding in the rain.My past experience is with dirt bikes 30+ yrs. ago and rain was a bonus event.I am looking for tips and info to be safe.I have heard that the first few minutes are the slickest before oils and such wash off.My Spectre is fitted with Michlein Macadam tires any suggestions on a better tire?

83 Spectre 750

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jul 2012 18:55 #538611 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Ridin in the Rain
A couple tips:

Paint stripes on the road are slippery when they get wet so use caution when riding on or crossing them.

Do not ride in the center of a lane; try to ride where the car tires normally contact the road. The reason is that oil dripping from cars generally lands in the center of the lane and accumulates. Once the road get wet the oil can get really slick. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
25 Jul 2012 19:07 - 25 Jul 2012 19:08 #538612 by kzcurt
Replied by kzcurt on topic Ridin in the Rain
my suggestion would be "first few minutes' is probably way longer if ever i would venture to the center of a lane during the rain. also depending on what you drive brakes can get funny when wet (my old kz's discs don't even slow the bike down when wet! :woohoo:
and eyes windshield no problem if not it pretty hard to see in the rain anywhere close to dusk or dawn...

2 cents done

Flag carrier #23
9 @ 50-2053,
Last edit: 25 Jul 2012 19:08 by kzcurt.

More
25 Jul 2012 19:24 #538615 by jeffasaki
Replied by jeffasaki on topic Ridin in the Rain
slow down
remain in control
keep visor clear
if it gets real heavy stop
wait it out
it can suck but just adapt according to conditions
as long as you feel comfortable ride
if youre unsure just stop until you feel comfortable again