Ok, time to laugh at a newb

• l0g1c
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Hanging on for dear life.
More
05 Jun 2008 02:43 #218032 by l0g1c
Ok, time to laugh at a newb was created by l0g1c
I decided I'm gonna give you old-timers a couple good laughs at my expense. I'm new at this whole working on a motorcycle thing, so keep that in mind when you hear the gross miscalcuations I've made in the last couple of days.

DUH moment #1: I pull almost the entire wiring harness out of my bike, remove all the electrical tape and shrink wrap to try and track down a pesky short only to find that when I installed my new handlebars, I crimped the wires leading to my starter button into the clamp that holds my brake handle on, thereby grounding them directly to the handlebars. :blush:

DUH moment #2: I get everything buttoned up and get ready to put some fire in the hole for the first time in weeks. She sputters a little bit while the gas makes its way to the carbs and then all the the sudden the bike starts revving like crazy! Luckily, I regained my wits in time to hit the kill switch before the thing got a chance to redline.

While I was waiting for my hearing to come back, I thought to myself, "I guess the throttle cable goes in the first slot after all..." :blink:

Anyways, I think it's good to be able to laugh at yourself, and lord knows I get plenty of opportunities. B)

'81 KZ750 LTD
'72 CB350K
Omaha, NE

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jun 2008 05:30 #218042 by Z1R rider
Replied by Z1R rider on topic Ok, time to laugh at a newb
We've all done things like that, probably the funniest I've done was after switching motors in a car all sorts of weired things going on with the electrical. When I hit the starter, the head lights came on!!!!! Took a day to find that I'd forgotten to put the negative cable back onto the motor.(trying to ground everything through the chassis ground) duooo :blink:

1978 KZ1000, Z1R
1999 250 Ninja race bike