1975 KZ400 D

• the6nightmares
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
11 Jun 2016 16:49 - 11 Jun 2016 17:08 #730992 by the6nightmares
1975 KZ400 D was created by the6nightmares
So after putting in some tinkering time, I can see that there is going to be ongoing maintenance and repairs to this bike, Might as well start a project thread here.

What I initially thought to be a 74 KZ400 may actually be a '75 KZ400 D. I am no expert here, simply going off what I have found online, if any expert wants to correct me, I'll be glad to accept it.

I am now thinking this is a '75 KZ400D for the following reasons, when comparing the VIN and engine info from KZ400.com I came across this:
www.kz400.com/ModelidentificationFrameset.html
My VIN sticker is labeled as K4-501683 (6 digits, where as the KZ400.com seems to suggest a 5 digit K4-xxxxx is the 1974)
The Engine stamp is K4E041389

My wife and I took the bike out last night (it is her first bike- learning to ride) and after a short jaunt it started idling and running somewhat erratically. More than once when coming to a stop at parking lot speed, either in gear with clutch in use, or in neutral, the engine would die (no real sputter, but acted starved for fuel). After that, I noticed that when riding at 4k RPMs + it was severely erratic- jumping high and dropping low. Seems as though it was a fueling issue to me.

We have only owned this bike a few months now, have put maybe 120 miles on it so far. Prior to its acting up, I had not done any fuel related work to the bike.