1981 KZ750 H LTD

More
23 Jan 2016 16:54 #707816 by K17
1981 KZ750 H LTD was created by K17
Hi Guys,
Wanted a place to keep all my photos. Bought this bike a few weeks ago. Its my first motorcycle and project really. I have no idea how to ride (can't wait to learn) and I've never worked on anything like this before, so I'm doing this really as a learning experience. I don't quite have a goal yet, I'm hoping itll come to me along the way.

Here she is the first day I brought her back. PO had it in his back yard after he couldn't get it to start anymore. 450$ and a short ride later and she was mine. For a 35 year old bike its in pretty solid condition. Tank looks great, no real rust, just some grime and a torn up seat.

New battery, gas, oil and filters in and a little bit of patience and I managed to get her started

Starting dissassembly.

Some things are easier to take apart than others. The electrical system wasn't terrible. But it was pretty mangled and all the connections needed cleaning. There was a lot of this.

And this

So I decided to rip out the entire harness and go the M-Unit route. As an engineer, I appreciate the old mechanical systems, but I hate the old electronics

Some mechanical disassembly, making some room

I'm not a fan of the old handle bars so I switched from this

to a superbike style

And here I am today, just playing on the jack

The goal is to keep breaking it down and get it to just a frame so I can have it sandblasted and painted, and work my way back up. I'm going to go with new controls (electrical and physical) just because I'll feel much more confident doing that myself.

And I know how sacrilegious it is to remove old parts :P so I have everything saved and set aside. Some of its a little worse for wear, turn signal is jacked up and the exhaust rusted through and snapped when I removed it, If anyone is in need of parts just PM me and we can talk

1981 Kawasaki KZ750 LTD H
I have no idea what I'm doing. But thats the fun part.