79 KZ 1000 LTD to police spec body

More
19 May 2014 13:29 #632974 by kingjoker74
79 KZ 1000 LTD to police spec body was created by kingjoker74
I'm new to the KZ world. Got a 79 KZ 1000 the other day and was wondering how hard it is to find and put on the police body work (fenders, fairing, solo seat, bags and the such.) Also is there another bike with a larger tank that will fit a 79 ltd without modification and possibly drop the fairing about 3 inches. I saw one that had that done and it does improve the looks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 May 2014 23:27 #633873 by blakeem
Replied by blakeem on topic 79 KZ 1000 LTD to police spec body
I'm far from an expert so correct me if i'm wrong but I've read that the '82+ police bike forks have wider spacing so I doubt the front fairing or front fender would fit.

I think the '82+ police single seat would only fit a '81-82 KZ1000 CSR LTD.

Perhaps one of the pre '82 police bike front fairing and fender would fit? I have read very little on these so I really have no idea. Sorry I can't be of more help.
The following user(s) said Thank You: the_Were-Rabbit

More
25 May 2014 16:12 #633956 by Bluesmoke69
Replied by Bluesmoke69 on topic 79 KZ 1000 LTD to police spec body
I believe the police bike have a different frame and wider front end, but some one who has one will chime in!! Hope this helps, but any hing is possible with enough effort and money.LOL

More
25 May 2014 16:34 #633961 by Nebr_Rex
Replied by Nebr_Rex on topic 79 KZ 1000 LTD to police spec body
Your LTD is worth more than a police bike. Why don't you sell or trade for a
cop bike.

2002 ZRX1200R
81 GPz1100
79 KZ1000st daily ride
79 KZ1000mk2 prodject
78 KZ650sr
78 KZ650b
81 KZ750e
80 KZ750ltd
77 KZ400/440 cafe project
76 KZ400/440 Fuel Injected

www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=39120.0

The following user(s) said Thank You: PLUMMEN

More
26 May 2014 05:08 #634010 by fitscott