Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

1982 KZ1000p project progress 30 May 2014 14:33 #634680

• blakeem
  • blakeem's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
Hello fellow KZriders.

I picked up this 1982 KZ1000p about a week ago. I got it from a police officer in Lake Havasu, AZ and rode it 5 hours to San Diego. The body is very clean for how old it is with zero rust. Engine sounds and starts up great but needs some attention. It has 52k miles on it and I paid $1200.

I don't want to just do another cafe, bobber, or brat styled bike so I plan on taking ideas from each style and making something a little different. This won't be a full tear down because I like being able to ride the thing as I progress and it's in pretty good nick already.

I'm new to riding and working on motorcycles so I'm learning as I go. Jeff @ Lach Motorsports is helping me with the tricky bits, I was impressed with his work in the past. I have nearly 18 years systems/software engineer/web development experience so I plan to use this as well as selling off the parts I remove to fund the project. In the end I expect to pay a couple grand out of pocket.

I had the shop go through the entire bike to give me a better idea of the state of things. It turned out that the chain masterlink was missing the clip so I'm lucky to have made it home. The bike is also low on compression (around 100-110 psi and 85 psi in the #3) and oil in the cylinder test shows it's the rings so that will need to get done at some point. Currently it's getting valves adjusted and a leakdown test to get a better idea of the extent of things.

Electrical is a little bit of a mess but that's something I'm more comfortable with. I'd like to replace the fuse box. The charging system was generating 14 volts at idle so that's great.