76 KZ900 Restoration

More
09 Oct 2013 16:09 #609376 by Eleventy7
76 KZ900 Restoration was created by Eleventy7
OK so this is my first time working on a motorcycle let alone a restoration. I have a1976 KZ900 in diamond dark brown. I spent sometime working on the chrome fenders and wheels. I cleaned up the exterior of the engine with degreaser and I'malso working on cleaning up the frame. I've pulled the gas tank and dumped the old bit of gas. I'm just concerned with a few things. First with the old gas I'm wondering if I'll need the carbs cleaned and/or rebuilt. I am seeing what I think is aluminum oxidation on the engine even after cleaning. I'm planning on replacing the oil and air filters as well as the plugs, plug wires' and battery.
Just wondering if doing the carbs myself is feasible as I don't have a ton of money to put into this. Also what are the chances of all the electrical systems working when I put it back together. I'm going to post some pics of some parts to get some opinions. Thanks in advance for any help.

1976 KZ900-A4

Cogito ergo, what?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Oct 2013 21:13 #609425 by peavylotus
Replied by peavylotus on topic 76 KZ900 Restoration
Well cleaning the carbs can be a pain, honestly I would have them serviced if I had to do it all over again. Adjusting everything and being sure they are clean can get tedious and for a beginner it can become quite the task. I had to pull my carbs more times than I could keep track because of the pilot jets clogging. Having them cleaned and adjusted will save you from soooo much headache and uncertainty.

If you didn't do anything to the electrical than it will work as good as it did before you started. If you have problems than you had or created a problem. Its not a matter of probability its a matter of putting things in their place.