Taking a dive! 82 KZ550 LTD Build

More
02 Aug 2011 19:55 #466436 by cte.matt
Taking a dive! 82 KZ550 LTD Build was created by cte.matt
Well, i've had my KZ for almost 11 months now. I bought it from a guy off Craigslist in decent condition. It's my first bike and i just started riding a few weeks before i bought it. Sooo, yeah, i'm a n00b and I didn't want to pay for a super nice bike to start.

It looked like this when i got it

Attachment BK1.JPG not found

Ran OK and I rode it around town for a little bit without many issues. It had some strange idling issues that sometimes were there and sometimes were not. Wish i could explain it but everyone said it was most likely a vacuum leak somewhere but i couldn't find one. The battery wouldn't charge, and of course i found this out after i was stranded... Thus i was hesitant to take it out a lot and then winter hit so i didn't ride at all.

I decided to get my hands dirty and get familiar with my bike. so i took it apart...

Attachment IMG_1675.jpg not found

Turns out, after much research and confusion, it has a Wiseco Big Bore 615cc Kit int it! Pistons looked real nice after i scrubbed the heck out of them. Bought some new rings and put those on. just popped the jugs back on and am working on valve clearances.

Attachment IMG_1880.JPG not found

Oh yeah, i decided to paint engine semi-gloss black. Going to file the fins later.

more pictures and info to come.

Anybody know a good place to get 13mm shims on the cheap? Maybe in the Dallas Ft. Worth area?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• TeK9iNe
  • User
  • What did you do!?!
More
02 Aug 2011 20:10 #466442 by TeK9iNe
Replied by TeK9iNe on topic Taking a dive! 82 KZ550 LTD Build
I'm assuming you had the cylinders honed? Just popping on a new set of rings without a hone will usually lower compression for a long time, especially if the cylinders were smooth.
The old rings probly had a decent seal. Compression numbers?