Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Noob with a ‘78 650 31 Jan 2024 16:18 #894696

• freonburn
  • freonburn's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey yall like the title says I’m a noob. Not just to the forum but to motorcycles as well. I’ve been a jeep guy my whole life so I’m not new to diagnosing engines, suspensions, transmissions, etc. I may have questions at times that seem ultra basic but there’s a lot different between what I’m used to and what I’m getting into and sometimes it’s hard to wrap my brain around. Additionally, I got this bike to learn to ride on.  I may want to sell it in a year or so and would like to keep its curb appeal to an easy sell level. I may never sell it. It looks fantastic to me but I need to put money into it so changes have to be made. 

About the bike:
1978 KZ650 B
engine, transmission, brakes, ignition and wheels all appear stock. 
PO chopped the frame and didn’t weld in the hoop that’s typical 
regulator has been removed but not replaced 
seat is aftermarket and annoying to remove 
all lights were included and damaged

initially I was told it just needed the battery to be charged and it’ll start but I actually had to realign and clean up the points. 

I do have a couple of questions that I’d love to source opinions from yall on. 
1. The front brake feels like trash. I was thinking about replacing and upgrading in the process. Is there a recommended upgrade for the whole system? 
2. I like to camp and go up into the mountains. I was thinking about adding saddle bags, sissy bar bag, or panniers to it just so I don’t have to ride a few hours with a heavy bag on my back. Has anyone added a system to one of these with the frame chop? If so, I would love to see a picture. 
3. I mentioned the idea of the tall sissy bar to a couple of friends and their reaction was not that positive. More like I was speaking blasphemy to the devout. Is it that weird an idea?