New 83 440 LTD Northern Kentucky Owner - I have cafe questions :)

More
20 Apr 2020 06:46 #823716 by 440aboveall
Picked up this running beauty yesterday for $800. I want to do a cafe theme. Where are you guys getting your straight pipes? I want to put on some short ones. Also, for the cafe seats, where are you relocating the battery and wires?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Apr 2020 10:27 #823732 by Move0ver
couple questions first:

what riding experience do you have?
what mechanical/maintenance experience do you have?

More
20 Apr 2020 12:26 #823740 by 440aboveall
I've been riding for over 20 years off and on. My main bike is a 2017 Yamaha FZ-07. I do general mechanical/maint on bikes. Recently I just installed a full exhaust, DNA filter, and an electronic jet kit on my Yamaha. I've replaced the signals, fender eliminator kit, oil changes, clutch levers, instrument cluster moves...etc. I'm pretty mechanically inclined.

I'm new to these Kawasaki bikes. I took mine out at lunch time for the first time up to the gas station. It bogged down pretty bad going up a hill. I had to keep the RPMs pretty high. This bike hasn't been run in some time so I threw some seafoam in the gas tank last night and used starter fluid to get it going. Seems to be running ok just boggs down when I give it gas. I've been trying to do some reading on these carbs. I might attempt to pull mine off and clean them to see if that helps. Any suggestions on what to check, let me know. I'm still doing some research on YouTube and this forum.

Also, what happens if I just cut my stock pipes off at the muffler? Will that cause performance issues?

More
20 Apr 2020 12:53 #823747 by Move0ver